• Decrease
  • Normal
  • Increase

Current Size: 100%

  • English
  • हिन्दी
Main Menu


The telecom services have been recognized the world-over as an important tool for socio economic development for a nation and hence telecom infrastructure is treated as a crucial factor to realize the socio-economic objectives in India. Accordingly, the Department of Telecom has been formulating developmental policies for the accelerated growth of the telecommunication services. The Department is also responsible for grant of licenses for various telecom services like Unified Access Service Internet and VSAT service. The Department is also responsible for frequency management in the field of radio communication in close coordination with the international bodies. It also enforces wireless regulatory measures by monitoring wireless transmission of all users in the country.


Telecom Commission


The Telecom Commission was set up by the Government of India vide Notification dated 11th April, 1989 with administrative and financial powers of the Government of India to deal with various aspects of     Telecommunications. The Commission consists of a Chairman, four full time members, who are ex-officio Secretary to the Government of India in the Department of Telecommunications and four part time members who are the Secretaries to the Government of India of the concerned Departments. The composition of the Commission is as follows:-


Composition of the Commission
Designation Name


Shri Rakesh Garg


Ms. Annie Moraes




Shri Narendra K. Yadav


Shri S S Sirohi

The part time Members of Telecom Commission are

  1. Secretary (Department of Information Technology)
  2. Secretary (Finance)
  3. Secretary (Planning Commission) and
  4. Secretary (Industrial Policy Promotion).


The Telecom Commission and the Department of Telecommunications are responsible for policy formulation, licensing, wireless spectrum management, administrative monitoring of PSUs, research and development and standardization/validation of equipment etc. The multi-pronged strategies followed by the Telecom Commission have not only transformed the very structure of this sector but have motivated all the partners to contribute in accelerating the growth of the sector.


Click here to see structure of department of telecommunication of telecommunication [PDF](25.45 KB)