• Licensed Service Areas (LSA)


    Directory of LSA Heads


    As for as the Telecommunication services are concerned the Country is divided into 22 Licensed Service Areas (LSA). These LSAs are headed by Advisor or Sr. DDG level officers. The setup at LSAs has been divided into five functional verticals. In addition, a separate functional vertical for coordination at the State/UT level has been provided in the States/UTs not collocated with LSA HQs.

    1. Security:

    • Agencies and Telecom Service Providers
    • Operation and Maintenance of CMS/ IMS
    • Curbing illegal activities/ Control over clandestine / illegal operation of telecom networks
    • To file FIR against culprits, issue notices indicating violation of conditions of various Acts in force
    • Analysis of call/subscription/traffic data of various licensees
    • Security related Inspection of Internet Lease Line, International/ National Private Leased Circuit
    • Detection and Analysis of Non-genuine IMEI cases
    • Security Audit of Telecom Network of Service Provider
    • Advocacy and Public Awareness on related matters

    2. Technology:

    • Inspections of Telecom Service Providers [Access Service, NLD, ILD, ISP, OSP, IP, VSAT, etc. )
    • OSP Registrations.
    • Telecommunication services in response to Disaster (Disaster Management)
    • Assistance in natural calamities or emergency situations.
    • Verification of VLR data
    • Matters related to NOC for selling of the global calling cards, international SIMs etc.
    • Ascertaining that the licensee is providing the services within permitted area Time synchronization of Telecom Networks
    • Secured Dedicated Communication Network
    • Interconnect Exchange
    • Advocacy and Public Awareness on related matters

    3. Service Compliance:

    • Checking of the service compliance by the licensee in respect of the license conditions and any directions issued by the licensor in public interest.
    • Matters related to Electro Magnetic Radiation (EMR) emission from Telecom installations & Tarang Sanchar Portal
    • Subscriber Document Verification with the objective to ascertain whether the mobile service operators are following the DoT guidelines for Subscriber verification before providing connections
    • Service Testing of various Licensed Service Providers in the Licence area and checking roll-out obligation as per license condition
    • Issues related to Mobile Number Portability
    • Advocacy and Public Awareness on related matters

    4. Administration:

    • Grievance Redressal of subscribers in respect of deficiency by various operators and interaction on social media.
    • Responding RTI queries.
    • Training & Skill Development
    • Holding of workshops, conferences and presentations
    • Responding to Parliamentary matters
    • Handling Court cases
    • Other regular administrative works
    • Advocacy and Public Awareness on related matters

    5. Rural:>

    • Right of Way (RoW) related issues and coordination with State Governments.
    • Network coverage/connectivity of villages for Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT) mission and of Banks in rural areas under Financial Inclusion Planning (FIP)
    • Inspection of LWE & USOF sites for technical compliance being funded by DoT
    • Implementation of Environmental sustainable Technologies in rural areas
    • Advocacy and Public Awareness on related matters.

    List of LSA's and their jurisdiction

    Sl No. SA rea of Jurisdiction (State/UT/Metro)
    1 Andhra Pradesh Andhra Pradesh, Telangana
    2 Assam Assam
    3 Bihar Bihar, Jharkhand
    4 Delhi Delhi
    5 Gujarat Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli
    6 Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh
    7 Haryana Haryana
    8 Jammu & Kashmir Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh
    9 Karnataka Karnataka
    10 Kerala Kerala, Lakshadweep
    11 Kolkata Kolkata
    12 Madhya Pradesh Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
    13 Maharashtra Maharashtra, Goa
    14 Mumbai Mumbai
    15 North East Meghalaya, Tripura, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Arunacahal Pradesh 
    16 Odisha Odisha
    17 Punjab Punjab, Chandigarh
    18 Rajasthan Rajasthan
    19 Tamil Nadu Tamilnadu, Pudduchery
    20 Uttar Pradesh - East Uttar Pradesh
    21 Uttar Pradesh - West Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
    22 West Bengal West Bengal, Andaman & Nicobar, Sikkim


Open Feedback Form
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
7 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.